Employee Safety Award Program

The safety award program started in September 2011 with the hope of the committee to bring awareness to district employees on the importance of safety at work and to help reduce injuries. When all of us are diligent in our daily efforts to keep safety a priority, we reduce the risk of injury as well as time away from work. The FZ Safety Committee is dedicated to keeping all district buildings, all staff members and all district properties safe.

Safety awards are given at all FZ buildings beginning in October and ending in April. All monthly winners will be entered into a grand prize drawing sponsored by the district’s insurance company Missouri United School Insurance Council (MUSIC) held each May. The grand prize consists of a two-night stay at the Lodge of the Four Seasons and a $100 gift card to the lodge.

The FZ Safety Committee is excited to be starting their 10th year of the FZ Safety Award Program.

Previous Grand Prize Winners:

2019-20 - No award was given due to schools closing

2018-19 - Jane Runkles, Transportation

2017-18 - Janet Owens, North Middle

2016-17 - Charles Staudt, Twin Chimneys

2015-16 - Pam Burton, District Administrative Office

2014-15 - Carol Bonenberger, Transportation

2013-14 - Jeanne Nowack, North Middle

2012-13 - Stacy Schromm, West Middle

2011-12 - Carmen Deforest, JL Mudd


A Safety Award recipient may choose which award he/she would like. The following items are offered as Safety Awards:

Soup/Mug/Spoon Combo with Lid

Mini LED Flashlight (batteries included)


44” Arc Auto-Open Umbrella

Two Compartment Lunch Bag


18 oz. Stainless Steel Travel Cup and two piece absorbent Stone Car Coaster Set


24 oz. Dual Wall Tumbler with drink thru Lid and two piece absorbent Stone Car Coaster Set