Picture representing Safety Committee

As of March, 2020, all committee activities are on hold due to the pandemic.  

This committee is chaired by Mr. Jeff Orr, Chief Financial Officer. You can reach         him at our main number, 636.240.2072 or by email, [email protected].

Committee Purpose

The Fort Zumwalt School District is committed to establishing and maintaining a safe work and school environment. To assist in achieving this goal, a Safety Committee comprised of representation concerning all aspects of District operations was formed.

The Safety Committee will establish and communicate safety goals and regulations as well as monitor the effectiveness of current practices. To accomplish these responsibilities the committee will meet monthly and will formulate a report with recommendations to the Superintendent of schools as needed.

Committee Goals 

1. Communicate directives from the committee that promote a safe work and school environment effectively for all staff.

2. Examine and review current safety practices as well as incidents and injuries and provide recommendations to the Superintendent based on findings.

3. Communicate safety committee updates to the district on a regular basis.

Committee Contact

To contact the safety committee, please send an email to [email protected]. Please keep in mind, this email is not to report common everyday issues that can be resolved by your building personnel. If you have a safety concern, you should always start with your building principal or the designated building safety coordinator first. However, if you would like to make suggestions that may have a positive impact throughout the district or to report ongoing chronic issues that you feel are not being properly addressed, please email the committee directly.


The Fort Zumwalt Safety Committee is comprised of District members from all areas, including Teaching, Administration, Transportation, Student Nutrition Services, Maintenance, Custodial, and our Insurance carrier.



Committee Coordinator/Member
Jeff Orr, Chief Financial Officer

2020-2021 Safety Committee Members
DeWayne Adams, Assistant Director of Custodial Services
Jim Akers, Loss Control Consultant, A.J. Gallagher Risk Mgmt. Serv.
Peggy Barkley, District Nurse Coordinator, Hope High
Paul Becker, Director of Student Nutrition Services
Eileen Bresnahan, Fringe Benefits Coordinator
Patrick Brown, Executive Director of STEM and Career Education
Nancy Coleman, Superintendent’s Assistant
Ken Dreher, Director of Facilities
Dr. Bernard DuBray, Superintendent
Jeff Orr, Chief Financial Officer
Jeff Schwepker, Director of Transportation
Scott Wightman, Area Executive Vice President, A. J. Gallagher Risk Mgmt. Services
Aaron Wright, Assistant Principal, East High