2020 Theater Conference Awards

Each year students from FZSD’s technical and performance theater groups have the opportunity to compete at the state level at the International Thespian Society (ITS) Conference. 
This year, retiring Fort Zumwalt North Assistant Principal Gary Pohlman was recognized as the organization’s Missouri Thespian Administrator of the Year, an award the Educational Theatre Association bestows upon outstanding individuals who have gone above and beyond in their role as a school administrator, demonstrating exemplary support of educational theatre. Congratulations to Mr. Pohlman and to the following students for their achievements at this conference.
North High, ITS Troupe 5140 and West High ITS Troupe 5929, were named Honor Troupe for their activities in the theater as well as in the community. North’s Camden Hovis and Madeline Ferrario and West’s Conrad Powell and Paige Shoemaker were selected to perform in the conference closing number.
In the Technical Challenge, North High had several students earn individual or small group recognition.
-- Claire Schwalb and Clayton Russ - Leg a Platform State Champions
-- Third Place - Cable Relay (team event)
-- Claire Schwalb - Third Place, Light Hang and Focus
East High competed with their first-ever Tech Challenge team. West High’s team finished third in Props. And, of the 23 teams competing, North finished third in the state, South finished fourth and West finished seventh.
Individual and small group performance recognition went to:
Student make-up designEast
-- Superior IE - Bre Ward and Joy Ross - IE, Superior Rating
-- Logan Alexander Brown, Connor Sidewell,  and Izzy Thompson - IE, Excellent Rating
-- Divinity Wright - Solo Musical, Superior Rating
-- Eliza Schnelle and Rosie Roberts - Duet Musical, Superior Rating
-- Claire Schwalb - Monologue, Excellent Rating
-- Sophia Mueller and Rylee Fryer - Duet Acting, Excellent Rating
-- Clayton Russ - Stage Management, Excellent Rating
-- Eli Bollinger - Solo Acting IE, Superior Rating
-- Alyssa Pollien - Solo Musical IE, Superior Rating
-- Allison Mort and Auggie Biermann - Duet Acting, Excellent Rating
-- Gabby DIebold and Kaitlyn Skeeters - Duet Musical, Excellent Rating
North’s Improv Intensive Team (Rosie Roberts, Ty Bodkin, Gage Hawbaker, Amber Teson, Morgan Bartold) earned an Excellent Rating and their Tech Design Makeup Team (Arianna Cooper-Kowaleski, Catie Bush, Jenny O'Leary, Anna Crowder) earned a Superior Rating. East High’s Improv Olympix team earned an Excellent Rating.